2018 - 2019 KEN SMITH TROPHY

Gordon Campbell's team unbeaten and now proceed to the semi-finals - very many congratulations to you Gordon and all the team.

Full results of the campaign so far are:

28/09/18 - Leominster away - Won by 2 1/2 games to 1/2.

03/10/18 - Leominster home - Won by 2 games to 1.

02/11/18 - Henlle Park away - Won by 2 games to 1.

16/11/18 - Henlle Park home - Won by 3 games to 0.

These results qualify the team for the Semi-Finals which will be played in the new year. Our opponents will be Shrewsbury and either Worfield, Ludlow or Llanymynech B depending on the results of this particular Zone.


13 drawn teams played in lovely dry and partly sunny autumn conditions on Tuesday 13 November 2018.

1st Ken MacGillvray, Phil Latter, Dave Robson & Steve Parkinson. 132 pts
(We still await the results of the blood tests so the result could change !! )

2nd Robin Ellis, President Dave Ralphs, Douglas Mein & David Brierley. 119 pts

3rd Ron Gleave, Peter Williams & Gerry Whitby ( all In picture!) 111 pts


51 Senior Members supported this annual event organised by Gerry Whitby to whom all are extremely grateful for his efficient commitment to the memory of our past members. A sincere thank you Gerry from all of us!

Click on the image of Gerry to view the full results


At Mile End Golf Club on Tuesday 02 October

40 members, including Hon Club Sec Louisa Goff, enjoyed a super day thanks to Captain Paul Harris. Winner of the shield for the best score of the day was Richard Powell who shot 39 points to win division two. The division one winner was Club Captain Robin Mackness with 38 points.

But the highlight of the day was a hole in one on the 7th by Dave Baker!

Many thanks to Captain Paul for not only a great day but a super prize table!

David Hiles wins Tony Walters Veteran's Trophy

David (centre left) is pictured receiving the Trophy from Seniors' Captain Paul Harris together with event organisers, David Jepson and Douglas Mein who was runner-up.

1st David Hiles 42 points off 13

2nd Douglas Mein 41 points off 18

3rd Paul Harris OBE 39 points off 25

4th Barry Roylance 37 points off 13

5th Alan Molyneux 36 points off 7

6th Allan Pilkington 36 points off 19

7th Michael Shortman 36 points off 22

8th Philip Sowden 35 points off 15

The First Hole in One of the Year by a Member?

Past President & Past Captain Gerald Smith achieves the third ace of his golfing career!

Playing in the Seniors’ Match v Wrexham on Tuesday 05 June Gerald used a five iron on the 166 yard Needles’ Eye 9th hole on the Hawkstone course.

Gerald has the dubious privilege of being the longest serving member of the Club having joined on 01 January 1957. His first ace was achieved in 1979 on the 3rd Cricket Pitch hole and his second was on the 9th Welsh View hole on the Windmill/Championship course in 2003.

And, the Seniors beat Wrexham by 8 1/2 to 1 1/2!

2018 SENIORS' CAPTAIN - Paul Harris

Paul has been in engineering all his life, initially working for a high precision machine tool company with a secondment in Japan and various business trips through-out the old Eastern Block, America and Europe.

After 20 years with the company he moved into power tools working in London prior to moving to Telford with Makita. After a short period, he was appointed to the board of directors in Japan with a remit to expand the European operation. Again, with many business trips to Japan, China, America and Germany, he opened a factory in Romania.

He says that he has been very lucky to experience so many different working cultures and ways of life; just before he retired he was awarded an O.B.E. for services to international business and he had the pleasure to lunch with her Majesty the Queen and Prince Philip when celebrating 50 years of the Queens reign.

While working, the opportunities to play golf were few and far between so, after retiring from this very busy working career, with surplus time on his hands, he joined the Golf Club some five years ago.Playing twice a week Paul was hoping to improve his game and fight advancing years and lowering his handicap still remains an ambition!

Paul says “My love for the game and Hawkstone Park Golf Club is reward enough. I consider myself very fortunate to belong to the Club as it has two splendid courses and, even if the game is not going well, walking down the 10th and 11th on the Hawkstone over the four seasons is a spectacular experience!”

Paul feels very honoured to be elected Seniors Captain and will do his best to promote the Club and support the other Captains. Paul continues “I wish all members, new and old, an enjoyable golfing year and, whatever your handicap, do take pride when you play two of the greatest courses in the UK!”


Details of the year's matches - updated 31 January

Click here to view


19 January Pictures

Click on the image to view some pictures


Click image to view finally agreed & signed document


The Senior Trophy winners were presented with their trophies after the Christmas Shot-gun Stableford competition. Pictured are from left to right are:

# Ron Gleave - Kiran Kapur Trophy
# Colin Ditty - Bill Blake Memorial Trophy
# William NCube - Xmas Stableford division two winner
# Phil Hollins - Russ Noble Trophy & John Davies Trophy
# President Dave Ralphs - Xmas Stableford division one winner.

The other trophy winners not present were:

# Senior Organisers Trophy - Bill English
# Tony Walters Trophy - Michael Shortman

2018 National Seniors' Events

485 + Seniors Opens Men’s, Ladies’, Mixed - all on one website!

Click on the image for details
  • 2018-12-18
  • 2018-12-19
  • 2018-12-20
  • 2018-12-21
  • 2018-12-22
Need to know more weather details? Click here to see the weather for the next 5 days.
Course Status
Currently open
04.11.2018 18:23
View Status
Both courses are open with preferred lies applying through the green. Please call the Golf Shop on 01948 841 775 for a daily update.
  • Ladies' Christmas Cracker
  • December Texas Scramble
  • 2018 Annual Dinner
  • 2019 RULES of GOLF
  • Ken Smith Seniors thru to semi- finals!
  • 2018 Club Champions
  • Ladies' Masters Winner
  • Geoff Lake wins Masters
  • Pauline Smith wins Ladies' Sandy Lyle Trophy
  • John Evans wins Sandy Lyle Trophy
  • James Braid Connection
  • Clwyd & Border Golf Alliance
Book a Tee Time
Ready to book?

Our booking system will make it easy for you.